What are we here for?

Posted: February 26, 2013 in Love
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo courtesy: mohitpawar.com

Photo courtesy: mohitpawar.com

When I was still in college, I was asked by a very trivial question by my philosophy professor. Actually, it was not just me. The whole class to be exact. The question is pretty simple, short and concise. But the question requires a substantial answer. It asks me to ponder and maybe stare the ceiling for a while. And really, in these days of busy lifestyle where we just go to and pro, I wonder if we have even stopped and thought of answering this question. The question that seek to define our existence.

The question is this. Why are we here on earth?

Right, why do we exist? Why do we live? What do we have to do in this lifetime? What are we here for?

I know this is embarrassing but I don’t think I had given a convincing answer that time. Neither, do I think my classmates did. But that has baffled me.

This is what a lot of us believe. The reason why we exist on earth is fulfill our purpose. Of course we have a purpose. No matter how useless your life today may seem I am very sure you are not here in this lifetime only to compete with the oxygen supply and food supply of this planet. There is a great value in you. And here’s more. I also believe that there is a great purpose that you have to do that only you can do and nobody else can because that is an assignment given to you.

Think of it, when we do something and we know that we have accomplished it well there comes a sense of pride that sprouts in the innermost of our being. It appears like a germinating seed watered by the dew of our natural tendency to care. We are inclined to do more. We are inspired to search in probably a hundred of ways how we can contribute something good for the betterment of mankind.

But some of us search for the wrong purpose. And because the purpose itself is wrong, it yields a bad fruit that causes us so much heartache and despair. We chase an ambition that disguises itself as a dream like a terrible wolf under the mask of the innocent sheep. We trade simple joys in life to the pleasures of the world that steals our peace. One of these bad purposes is the chase for money and fame. Please don’t get me wrong. I do not say that money is bad. In fact, money is a wonderful instrument to help others and expand our quality of life. But the love for money drives us to make bad choices, ruin relationships and sometimes abuse the weaknesses of others. I don’t think this is your purpose. I believe you are highly significant to have a higher kind of purpose than any of these.

I thought I have already found my purpose when I reached what I thought to be the pinnacle of my career. When I knew I have employed many jobless people in my company. When I have spoken great pieces of advice to delinquent juveniles. When I encouraged hopeless people. I honestly believe that this comprises pretty much all my purpose – success and ability to serve.

But I was wrong.

It is in the bed of depression where God taught me my purpose. That was when I was stripped off of all the accolades, possessions and pleasures that have adorned my life with blinding glitters of envy from others. Indeed it was a very unlikely classroom from a great teacher. And God spoke to my spirit that I do not really need to chase all those things as He freely gives it to anyone. I am bound for a greater purpose which is generic to all of us.

And that great purpose is to give God all the honor and glory in everything that we do.

I am not really encouraging you to become a preacher. I am a businessman myself. Leave to the preachers what is meant for preaching. I do not care what you do. What your job is or how you make money for a living. Just make sure that whatever you accomplish, you will never fail to look up in heaven to say even a few simple words of gratitude. When you do that, God will take good care of your business.

So what do I mean?

That means, as a call center agent you will not tweet while working and acts like you are busy when the boss is around as that is cheating.

As a public school teacher you will arrive in school on time and teach your students not by terror but by love for them and your job.

As an office employee you will not sneak a few paper clips and coupon bonds in your bag as this is stealing.

As a public servant you will not enter into anomalous contracts to profit as God hates dishonesty.

The bible speaks to remember the Lord your God for He is the one who gave you the ability to create wealth. Further, So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God (1Corinthians 10:31). It is very clear. And when you give God the glory He deserves – believe me, He will take good care of the things you cannot do.

Recognize God is all that you do.

This friend is your real purpose. This is what you are here for.

May you be blessed. Good luck.🙂

Leave a Reply

