Just recently I encountered a problem with Paypal.  For those of you who normally do some internet purchases and banking know what I am talking about. In cases when you cannot access your online account such as this, you definitely experience some deep-trodden worries since you are dealing about money.

To be fair, I never had any problem with Paypal since. In fact, they have really been very prompt in transferring money to my bank account ready to be withdrawn. That is why you can just imagine my panic when a sudden problem such this happened to me. Because, really; when you talk about money online – you really do not have anyone to talk to but to hope that their customer service doesn’t sucks and gives you a very good response.

The situation goes like this…

I opened my Paypal account year 2010 and from then on I have been constantly receiving payments from my clients abroad (I run a telemarketing firm btw- in the Philippines). My job and my business will tell you that I have experienced almost all type of email customer service, and to tell you quite frankly, I am not at all satisfied with the way how most email customer service addresses concerns. That is why sometimes I’d go an extra mile of “bulleting” or numbering my concerns to really, really get my point come across so that we do not have to wait about 24 hours for every email correspondence. I am sure you know what I am talking about. It is just frustrating.

Well anyways, going back to the story; I request for a withdrawal last March 14, 2013 and I kept going back to the bank to withdraw the money in vain. Normally Paypal can swiftly get the transaction done for just 2 business days. Until on the seventh day I have already figured out that something went wrong. I emailed Paypal right away and thankfully got a response from them. To my surprise, they told me that my Paypal no longer match with my bank information hence the cause of delay. As far as I can remember I have never touched anything in my account and been using it in years. Paypal reverse the process and I was reimbursed with the money they are supposed to charge whenever your bank refuses to process your withdrawal due to irregularities of your information. In other words, your Paypal details no longer match with your records in your bank (this happens due to your bank’s change of policy).

I am writing this post to honor 2 wonderful people who helped me in my case. Often, these people we know virtually are not being complimented for a job well done. Well in my case, I’d like to give them a special mention and a shootout though I do not know them personally. Just my simple way of showing gratitude.

My case was handled by Faia and Dave but I’d like to use Dave as an example here.

Here’s an example of an email sent to me by Dave of paypal.

Dear Moli, Jay

          Good day. I am Dave from PayPal Customer Support. I received your email and I’m happy to assist you today.

          I understand that you wanted to make sure about your bank account information for your withdrawal. No worries about this Jay, I will definitely help you out with this. It’s a good news for us Jay that the response of the previous representative met you’re expectations. That is the goal of PayPal.

          After an extensive review on your account, I can see that you want to remove your bank account information and re-add it as per previous rep.

Here’s how to remove your bank account:

  1. Go to www.paypal.com and log in to your account.
  2. Click Profile near the top of the page.
  3. Click Bank Accounts under ‘Financial Information.’
  4. Select the bank account you want to remove and click Remove.
  5. Review the account information, and then click Remove.

           Here’s how to add the bank account with your new name to your PayPal account:

  1. Click Profile near the top of the page.
  2. Click Bank Accounts under ‘Financial Information.’
  3. Click Add.
  4. Enter your bank’s information.
  5. Review the account information and click Add Bank Account to add your bank account.

           I’ll be glad to hear from you if you need clarification and I will do my best to give you immediate answers.

           Thank you for choosing PayPal.

          Sincerely,

          Dave

          PayPal, an eBay Company

Notice how Dave formulated his email.

Dave started it with a strong greeting.

  1. Showed empathy in the beginning of his email by saying that he is happy to serve me.
  2. Notice that he never failed to mention my name always (this to me gives some personal touch to the message by eliminating the stiffness or tone of a generic customer service email).
  3. Dave assured me that he did something before advising what action to take (by saying that he did an “extensive review” of my case).
  4. Since I “bulleted” what I want to know, he also gave me back with a step-by-step instruction of what to do.
  5. Dave guaranteed me that he is still willing to help me in case my problem still persists.

This may be a simple case but I think this is outstanding customer service. They are hard to find today since most companies online would just formulate written responses that customer service associates would copy and paste thus, eliminating the personal touch and genuineness of the response and would sometimes make you feel like you are messaging a machine.

Now I am awaiting for my money in the bank.

Thank you Faia and Dave.

If you own an online company; please, please learn a lesson from this.

Leave a Reply

