Offer Service NOT a Product

Posted: April 2, 2013 in Love
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Pretend that every single person you meet has a sign around his or her neck that says, “Make me feel important.” Not only will you succeed in sales, you will succeed in life.” – Mary Kay Ash

Just a personal testimony here.

I actually find it funny contemplating on this not because I am treating this as a joke but because it resonates to my being. In my early years in sales/ telemarketing, I applied the “you” (customer) principle and thinks of myself as someone who is offering a service and that if they’d refuse the service then they will miss a wonderful opportunity to be served. For a time, this subconscious thought I think towards my customers is serving me well. The idea is; I am doing this job because I am giving a service that benefits them. I became a top-seller and was promoted several times.

I have been egoistic with my performance which made a 180 degrees shift of my thought life from “You” principle to “ME” principle. So now it becomes me, me and me. I am thinking that I can get more sales because the one doing it is ME. I still managed to pull off sales but the feeling is totally different. I felt that I am no longer offering a SERVICE but rather offering them just a PRODUCT.  The sales are still there but it was a steep  and heart-quenching climb. I am in hot pursuit of my worth rather than the worth I can give to my customers. Hitting the mark became less fun, less fulfilling and more self-serving.

Remember, customers can get the product anywhere BUT to get them get the product from you is what genuine SERVICE does.

Every sales person must realize that your job is not to make money. Yes! Not to make money. But your job is to create value and in doing so, money serves as a tangible reward. A direct result of something you put into the world. Your business thrives because you make other people’s lives more comfortable, more convenient and easier.

Sales should not be a chase after a quota kind of thing. Sales are about creating patronage of the value you have created by making people happy and important.

Have you not wondered why you still bought a product from someone when you know you don’t need it so much but because the sales agent made you especially important?

Your excellent ability to serve is what gets other people to dig down deep into their pockets that creates your sales.

So if you are a salesman that is struggling with your numbers. Maybe you do not need to look far in finding out the reason why. Maybe the only thing you have to do is to merely change your approach. You do not need a resounding applause from your fellow salesman at a recognition day more than a sincere “thank you” from the many people you have served.

Start creating value and not the numbers under your name. After all, it is the value you give that makes you unforgettable and not the amount of sales you make.

Comments
  1. mythirdchakra says:

    Hi Jay. Thank you so much for visiting my new blog http://www.miraclemadness.wordpress.com. I look forward to reading your inspiring posts.

    • Jay Moli says:

      I am actually recording what you wrote and shared it over twitter. It is indeed inspiring and I am very sure that this works because I am pumped up. I wish you can write some more. You just sow good seeds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

