She gave me permission to post her photos her. She managed to get rid of her shyness for a while to ask for your help. Gieve her not your pity but your kindness instead.

She gave me permission to post her photos her. She managed to get rid of her shyness for a while to ask for your help. Give her not your pity but your kindness instead.

Just recently I was invited to teach in the public school in the Southern part of the Philippines. The place is called barangay Libertad of the Municipality of Dimataling, province of Zamboanga del Sur. At first I was kinda hesitant about this invitation as I knew from the news that insurgency is rampant in this place. It is an impoverished place not even having a decent highway to get there. At first the experience was pretty uncomfortable for me since it is a very rural place where you could hardly find a cellphone signal. As someone who is used to tweeting and getting connected with my friends and family over the social networking sites, I comforted myself that I would not be able to use it. A couple (Mrs & Mrs Fuerzas) who are also teachers in that local high school was very kind enough to shelter me in their house.

The school is fine and clean (although somehow outdated), the principal was very accommodating too, and of course the students are very much polite and sweet.

I was told that I will be handling the second section of fourth year students in that school (I have an incredible experience with these students which I will promise to tell you in my other blog entry) who is known to be undisciplined with above average absences. I told myself that indeed this is a challenge for me and I met the challenge head on like a speeding truck. I am very sure that I am there for a Devine appointment, so if God asked me to be there, His grace will be enough to see me through (I never doubted that).

But this blog entry wishes not to describe my experience there. I would like to devote this post to one of my students who in a lot of ways bothered me. Bothered me not because she was unruly but because she was shy and timid. Her name is Maila; sitting on my far right corner, quietly listening to me and sheepishly smiles whenever I crack some old jokes in front of the class.

I am normally boisterous when I discuss lessons in the class and pride myself to be the walking “visual aid” as I make sure to engage my students in the discussion granting the whole learning exchange free from boredom. Maila seldom participates in our graded oral recitation. So after discussing something in the class, I told her to follow me in the faculty room.

I said, “Maila you are getting good grades from me in your quizzes but I seldom see you raise your hand during our discussion, what’s wrong?” Maila looked down and answered me, “Sir I am ashamed because my classmates might laugh at me.” “Why would they do that?” I replied. She took a deep breath and answered “….because of this mass in my face.” And I can hear between those words her feelings of desperation and self-pity.

I realized then that, yeah! I can’t blame her. She has a physical deformity in her face possibly caused by a disease she doesn’t even know what. I probed further if she has it checked by a physician but I was surprised by her answer NO – for lack of money. From the looks of it, it may require a surgery.

As she graduate in High School next year, it would still be a struck of luck if she can go to college but even then, that outgrowth in her face would always kill her self-confidence especially that she is a woman.

This may not be an accident why you are reading this now. Why you found yourself still reading up to this part of her story. Maybe this situation is touching your heart as much as it touched mine. Maybe it just knocked in the door of your mind to give her a little of your kindness.

I told Maila to do what I could to help. I asked her permission to post her photo here.

My dear readers, I am doing this not for myself but for the benefit of my student. I want her to believe that God can work miracles through the hands of kind people like you – and that God answers prayers.

Please let us help Maila.

If you wish to help her please email me at fjaymoli@hotmail.com and I can send your help in your behalf. Or if you wish to help her personally, just inbox me & I can lead you to her and her family.

This could probably be her best breakthrough ever.

May God touch you and Bless you.

Leave a Reply

