The reason why you have nothing is because you failed to ask.

Just this morning I had a conversation with an older friend that is a resident physician of SSS (Social Security System). She told me that at a send-off party of one of her colleagues who had just retired, she heard one of the most entrancing farewell speeches she had ever heard.

This colleague of hers, who retired at 55 years old, said, “God has blessed me with so many things. As you can see, I lived a very good career and a happily harmonious family with my siblings and parents. But there is only one thing I didn’t have; I did not have a husband and so I never became a mother, never became a wife, never had kids. Just recently, I realized that the reason why God didn’t give it to me is because while being busy with my career, I forgot to ask God to give me a partner.

That became the center of our conversation all throughout and the need to ask something.

Before I go on, please ask yourself.

What is it that you really want? Have you dared to ask for it? Why not?

I think the reason why most people did not have much in life is because they never asked. The case can either be; a.) They don’t think they deserve to ask something or b.) They have no inkling what to ask because they don’t know what they want. Not knowing what you want is one of the saddest things in life, because it means you have no idea what you want to achieve.

Jesus even said, 9 “So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 10 For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Luke 11:9-10)

This to me is indeed an assurance that if we only learn to ask, God can fill us with the many facets of His infinite blessings.

When we do not know what to ask, we only accept what comes along.

Nobody wants to live a mediocre life. And I don’t think God, being a loving Father would want us to have a life that is less than what He plans for us to have – to live a joyful life.

My challenge is this, if you feel like nothing exceptional is happening in your life right now – gather your most authentic faith and begin to ask. Who knows after asking, God will lead you to an adventure of a lifetime where He can open His floodgates of blessing from heaven down to your coffers.

Ask and you shall receive. 

Comments
  1. George Lima says:

    this reminds me of something today.

Leave a Reply

